• Extras
  • Google Ads

Meet the 2011 Bobcats

Coaches, players, parents, and fans gathered in the little theater at McNairy Central High School for the annual Meet the Bobcats Aug. 9, before the weekend of the Jamboree. 

Cheerleading coach Michelle Teague began the ceremony by introducing her seniors; captains, Hannah Weatherford and Christina Carroll, Kenzi Smith, Shelbie Fowler, Alex Hutson, and Brittney Kirk.

The remaining 2011 cheerleading members are juniors April Coleson, Anna Kate Whitley, Deven Graham, and Meagan Martin; sophomores Megan Johnson, Madison Roach, Molly George, and Amanda Terwilliger; and freshmen Kassy Brush and Maggie Whittaker.

“On the side of the stage there is a little pile of trophies,” said Teague. “I want you to be so proud of these girls every time you see them. They competed against squads of 20 plus in Memphis and Alabama, and they still brought home all those trophies.”

The awards were in extreme routine, cheer, overall supreme trophy, and a new award called the tradition award. The cheerleaders then performed on stage their cheer and personal routine for the crowd.

The football team adds a new member to the coaching staff this year, Scott Akin, coach of the offensive line. Defensive coordinator Michael Stroup returns this year along with Jake Kiser, Brandon Alldredge, and Jay Kirk.

Head football coach Jim Glover introduced the freshmen, “As you can see we have a healthy group of freshmen this year. This is something we are really proud of.”

Thirty freshmen took the stage and Glover went on to say this is the first year that players were turned away from the program because of the numerous amounts of players wanting to join.

“The freshmen will have 11 ball games this year; six freshmen and then five junior varsity. They will play in both of those. We have taken them out, and they have been practicing with the varsity. We are getting them ready for the first game on Sept. 8 at Humboldt.”

The sophomores came next with another large group of guys.

“Some of these guys will play on the special teams on Friday nights,” said Glover, “and some will play in the junior varsity games as well.”

Glover named each and every player along with their positions and memory they have had in previous events.

“You can practice all you want but until you get under those lights you’re not going to get any better, so we want to get these guys played as much as possible.”

Seven players were introduced out of the junior class, including John Thomas Davis, Davion Prather, Blake Sweat, Cody Turner, Dreyfus Sain, Cody Hill, and Kooper Davis.

Grant Saum, Avery Skinner, Tanner Tranum, Ron Dempewolf, Austin Gafford, Daniel Harrell, Hayden Kiestler, Kerby Gray, D.J. Lynum, Tyler Shumate, Casey Akin, Kennon Strickland, Juan Macias, Jack Smith, and Justin Sutton took the stage at Meet the Bobcats for the last time and were announced as the seniors.

Joseph Payne was the only senior that wasn’t present. Payne joined the military and should be home for games toward the end of August.

“You will see some guys on the sidelines with their names on the back of their jerseys; these are the guys who have made 95 percent of the required attendance. We gave them three days for summer vacation, and about 35 of those guys have something to be proud of.”

Statistician James Johnson and senior manager Daniel Gant were recognized for their hard work and dedication to the team as well.

The crowd cleared to rejoin at the Jamboree on Friday at Gibson County with a preseason game against North Side.

Read more from: Sports
Tags: None
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: