• Extras
  • Google Ads

McNairy County teachers receive MCFAE grants

Ten McNairy County teachers have announced their retirement.Front Row: Judy Hammons, Anna Dennis, Debbie Brooks, Beverly Ratliff, Allene Swan; Back Row: Pam Stackhouse, Simms Rhea, Ron Christopher, Marianne Rogers, Jan Scott. Submitted Photo

Each year, the McNairy County Foundation for Academic Excellence awards grants to teachers to fund innovative classroom projects. Gene Hebert announced the 2011 grant recipients:

The Paul Fisher Oil Company grant Planting the Seed for Learning to Read was awarded to Kayce Howard at Michie Elementary School.

The Robert Shackelford and Shackelford Funeral Home grant Classroom Combustion was awarded to Lisa Roten at Ramer Elementary School.

The John Tackett Memorial grant It All Adds Up was awarded to Gloria Brush at Selmer Elementary School.

The Linda Lambert Memorial grant Digigogy: Digital Pedagogy for the 21st Century was awarded to Stacy Jones at MCHS.

The Pasty Cain Memorial grant Paint the Town, Our Town was awarded to Lisa Engle at Adamsville Elementary School.

Funds from this grant will begin building an “e-book library” built by students and teachers that can be used from year to year. The TVA grant E-Book Extravaganza was awarded to Sherrie Wilson at Adamsville Elementary School.

The Pickwick Electric Grant FIGHT (find a job, interview for a job, get a job, hang on to the job, and thrive on the job) was awarded to Kathy Finlayson at MCHS.

The Tom Hendrix Educational Foundation and Henco Furniture grant To See Me, To Hold Me Is to Know Me is awarded to Debra Steen at Michie Elementary School.

The Spectrum Corporation grant I Am a Writer is awarded to Bonnie Hickman at Selmer Middle School.

The Home Banking grant Soul Purpose: Guiding Students to Greatness is awarded to Amy Reid at Adamsville Jr/Sr High School.

The Bancorp South grant Lights, Camera, Math! is awarded to Sheila Hurst at Bethel Springs School.

The Rotary Club Bouncin’ to Higher Math Scores is awarded to Lora Leigh Brown at Selmer Middle School.

The Walmart Grant An App a Day for Success in Pre-K is awarded to LaShell Moore at Selmer Elementary School.

Community South, Bank of McNairy County, and Ted and Jorica Moore grant The Sky’s No Longer the Limit is awarded to Lisa Horton at Michie School.

Read more from: News
Tags: None
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: